#043

Published February 12, 2012 by juliehrebicik

20120212-221138.jpg

Today was cleaning day! I cleaned for quite a while and got a good amount done! One task I had was to find homes for all the things I took out of my bedroom after we started the makeover. One item, which is very dear to me and holds a very special place in my heart was my grandmothers jewelry box. My grandmother passed away a couple years ago and I was truly devastated. I know that it might be silly to hold on to material things, but I spent hours when i was growing up just playing with this jewelry box. I absolutely loved it as a little girl, and it helps me hold on to those good memories I had with her. It’s especially hard to watch someone you love so much dying, and I still think about sitting by her bed hours before she passed away and holding her hand and telling her that it was okay, and that we would miss her but we would be fine. At that point, she was pretty much unresponsive and I just remember sitting there and hoping she would say something to me, so that I could hear her one last time. I don’t think the pain of loosing her will ever go away, its been a couple of years and every time I think about it I cry but I do have lots of great memories of her and it helps to have this tangible object that gives me such fond memories of my life with her.

I decided to place the jewelry box on my desk. Inside the jewelry box is a picture of my grandmother with my brother when he was little. I think this picture was taken in 2005. I also have all the jewelry that I wore on my wedding day in there. Special jewelry for a special jewelry box.

Leave a Reply

