#023

Published January 23, 2012 by juliehrebicik

Happy Chinese New Year! Matt and I, along with Sara, Mike and Tank went out for our traditional Chinese New Year celebration meal to the Chinese buffet. Yum! I ate way too much but it was soooo good.

20120123-202638.jpg

So this is the rocking chair I’ve been working on for our bedroom makeover. Matt’s grandmother passed away in December and this chair was given to us when they began cleaning out her home. It’s a very old, well made chair that has been in the family a long time. I included the before pictures and some pictures of what it looks like now. It isn’t finished yet, I still need to add some yellow in there and give it a touch up. I also need to recover the cushion that will go on the bottom but im not sure what type of fabric i will use yet. I like the way it’s coming along though!

20120123-202919.jpg

These are some more pictures of things for our bedroom. I got the lanterns hung up. I’m either going to paint them black or buy some new ones (they are only $4) when I go to Ikea this weekend. The little table was also from Matt’s grandmothers home, I’m still working on that one as well. Planning to add some yellow. Not sure if I’m loving the details I’ve put on the top so far so I might end up redoing it. This table will sit next to the rocking chair in the corner of our bedroom underneath the hanging lanterns.

I found the picture frame and yellow bottle when I went to Ross this weekend. I absolutely love the picture frame. The picture doesn’t do it justice. It’s like a mirror frame so it was hard to get a good picture without me being in it. I’m pretty sure if you look close enough you can see the hanging lanterns in it. It’s a mirror like frame with yellow designs on it. Very pretty! I paid $7 for the frame and $1.99 for the bottle. Pretty good finds I think! Also, they are sitting on the new comforter I found at Ross as well for $40. More then I would have liked to pay, but it’s comfy and has the added bonus of being hypoallergenic! It’s very very very warm. Have to turn off the heat when we go to bed or it gets too hot under the blanket! Still searching for throw pillows, sheets, and a yellow throw that I like to complete that part of the bed. I’m really excited that things are starting to come together.

2 comments on “#023

  • Leave a Reply

